• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Interests:Humor, Writing, Counseling, Bible Study,Discipling and Revival
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • Webbs Mills Free Baptist Church

Posted 19 December 2013 - 09:53 AM

There is something heart-wrenching about an old church that has been abandoned. Many of the people who worshipped in them had a wonderful heritage of faithfulness to the Word of God, but something happened and now those who once sat in the pews have died or moved on. Even more tragic is when these old buildings, once dedicated to God, have come to house some cult or false religion or maybe have become a museum or antique store. However, it is far more tragic when those who profess to be born again become spiritually sterile and the light dims because the Holy Spirit has abandoned or greatly diminished the manifestation of His Power in their midst. There may be a few remaining sparks but the flame of passionate love for and worship of God has, for the most part, cooled and died down to ashes. The sparks finally succumb and fade out altogether. Nevertheless, those sparks could be re-ignited if even one or two of those sparks responded to the One Who said, "Nevertheless, I have somewhat against thee, because thou hast left thy first love" (Revelation 2:4). They had much history that merited His approval but they had left their first love. His answer for their dying devotion is found in Verse 5. There, He admonished, "Remember therefore from whence thou art fallen, and repent, and do the first works; or else I will come unto thee quickly, and will remove thy candlestick out of his place, except thou repent." How those sparks might be ignited will engage our attention tomorrow, God willing. Selah! A body and a church when abandoned have much in common!  Thinker  (Ron)

• Candice and Kenny like this

#2 elizabethcog

elizabethcog

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 303 posts
  • I am a Layperson

• The Bridge