• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Interests:Humor, Writing, Counseling, Bible Study,Discipling and Revival
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • Webbs Mills Free Baptist Church

Posted 06 December 2013 - 12:43 PM

Much of the working of the Holy Spirit is not dramatically visible. It is true that the results of His work are frequently visible. Consider the pre-conversion work that He does. Quietly engineering circumstances to engage our attention, He uses various means, such as His Word, a book, a CD, a DVD, the words of a friend or family member, a tract, etc. In that way, He makes us conscious of our sinfulness, of a righteousness that we could never produce and of judgment to come. In John 16:8, this ministry is described. "And when He is come, He will reprove the world of sin, and of righteousness, and of judgment." A person with whom He is working senses his or her lost condition, the judgment that awaits their sin and rebellion, and then a discovery that a Savior has died in their place and that He has paid the penalty due their sin and corruption. If they open their lives to Jesus, as their Savior and Lord, the Spirit of God quietly enters their inner being and takes up residence. Do we see Him enter? Do we see Him change a sinner into a saint? Do we see Him dispel darkness and impart light? Do we see Him changing their inner being, purifying their hearts? We may and should see the results but we don't see the working. "The wind bloweth where it listeth, and thou hearest the sound thereof, but canst not tell whence it cometh, and whither it goeth: so is every one that is born of the Spirit" (John 3:8). A quiet and amazing transformation takes place in a human heart. Selah! A vivid and outward emotional response may mask the absence of the Spirit's working. Ron

• Candice, Charles Miles, chipped china and 3 others like this

#2 chipped china

chipped china

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 574 posts