• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Interests:Humor, Writing, Counseling, Bible Study,Discipling and Revival
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • Webbs Mills Free Baptist Church

Posted 12 January 2013 - 08:33 AM

We have many reasons that move us to want to glorify God. Look with me at the one reason above all others that should fill us with a passion to glorify Him. Not for a minute am I able to do justice to this subject. I can only pray that the thoughts will be helpful. Let's begin with this: you have a son that you love with every fiber of your being. You look around on mankind. There are all kinds of people headed for eternal punishment. They range from some fairly decent people (but still with a lot that is wrong in their lives) to those that might be described as the dregs of humanity. You alone have the means to save these people from their deserved fate. To rescue them, you must allow your son to be severely tortured, mocked and suffer an excruciating death. Would you do it? God did! Don't think for a moment, however, that Jesus' physical suffering was the worst thing that He endured. Certainly, it was horrible and we must never be guilty of minimizing it in any way. Nevertheless, the worst thing that He suffered was bearing our sin and sins in His own body. The Holy, sinless, pure, perfect Son of God had to have placed upon Himself all the sin(s) of mankind for all of human life on earth, for all of time. He had to be punished for (pay for) all of man's offenses against God's Holy justice. There are no words in the human vocabulary to adequately convey what this cost Him, but "....God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life" (From John 3:16). Selah! Anyone who would spurn such a gift of love and grace as that gift which God offers, paid for at such a price, deserves to be separated from God and righteousness forever. Thinker (Ron)