• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Tony Davison

Tony Davison

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Interests:Retired Electrician by trade full time christian by Gods choice.
  • I am a Layperson

• I attend a non-Alliance church

Posted 25 February 2018 - 04:08 AM

This can be a nasty topic, but how do others cope with the pressure of the world view that is being infiltrated into the church? For instance LGBT rights, christians will tell you we have to except them at all cost. I know I love the sinner but hate the sin. People are not satisfied with them being just there they say they should be aloud to do anything in the church. Are there ways to deal with these things without being legalistic?

• Candice and Charles Miles like this

#2 reader

reader

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 31 posts
  • Interests:Reading the Bible and life accounts from saints of years past
  • I am a Missionary

Posted 25 February 2018 - 07:03 AM

Below is from a recent daily Tozer Devotional, which I like, and it speaks to your question.

Lovingly Opposing Evil . . . If we belong to Jesus Christ, we must hate evil even as He hated evil in every form. The ability of Jesus Christ to hate that which was against God and to love that which was full of God was the force that made Him able to receive the anointing—the oil of gladness—in complete measure. On our human side, it is our imperfection in loving the good and hating the evil that prevents us from receiving the Holy Spirit in complete measure. God withholds from us because we are unwilling to follow Jesus in His great poured-out love for what is right and His pure and holy hatred of what is evil.

This question always arises: "Did our Lord Jesus Christ hate sinners?" We already know the answer. He loved the world. We know better than to think that Jesus hated any sinner.