• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Interests:Humor, Writing, Counseling, Bible Study,Discipling and Revival
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • Webbs Mills Free Baptist Church

Posted 14 September 2015 - 04:50 AM

One of life's most interesting facts is that a person long dead still influences people now living. What kind of influence will you and I have on others? Will people say, "I don't want to be like him or her!" If not, will they say, "That's the kind of person I want to be." Which way it goes is very much up to us. We can be a Godly influence or we might only be a moral, self sacrificing example. If the former, our influence may bring eternal blessing, if the latter, it might help some for this life only. The worst case scenario is that we might be a bad example. That might help some to not do or be what we did or was. On the other hand, some might follow our example and be badly damaged as a result. This is why Paul gave us this inspired charge in Philippians 1:27, "Only let your conversation (manner of life) be as it becometh the gospel of Christ...." If our lives are a credit to the Gospel of Christ, some will be helped and perhaps some will be helped for eternity. I could cite a number of people who have had a profound influence upon me for eternal blessing. Let us all seek God's enabling to impact others for their eternal good! Avis B. Christiansen's  hymn, "Only One Life," gives us in the last stanza, a passionate prayer that we would do well to pray, "Only one life to offer take it, dear Lord, I pray; Nothing from Thee withholding, Thy will I now obey; Thou Who hast freely given Thine all in all for me, claim this life for Thine own to be used, my Savior, every moment for thee." Selah! We are given an immortality of influence on others. Which way will ours point?   Thinker   (Ron)

#2 Guest_Marvin Harrell_*

Guest_Marvin Harrell_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 September 2015 - 07:45 AM