• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Interests:Humor, Writing, Counseling, Bible Study,Discipling and Revival
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • Webbs Mills Free Baptist Church

Posted 24 July 2014 - 10:22 AM

Power usually means energy and/or ability. It sometimes means "authority." Spiritual power is usually thought of as God's energy displayed in miraculous ways. For example, think of God's power in parting the Red Sea, allowing the Hebrews to escape the pursuing Egyptian Army. Consider someone like Paul. Could Saul ever be a convert to Christ? Are you kidding me? He's about the most unlikely prospect for conversion that we could find anywhere. God's power brought him to his knees on the Damascus Road and he became a major factor in preaching Christ. It is true that God's power is dramatic at times. However, we far more often observe God's power as Divinely given authority. At the close of Jesus' teaching, in Matthew 7:28-29, Matthew records, "And it came to pass, when Jesus had ended these sayings, the people were astonished at His doctrine; for He taught them as One having authority, and not as the scribes." But what did Jesus teach? He preached the Word of God! Anyone of a mind to do so could preach, teach the Bible and have no results. Unless God activates the message, Spiritually, it reaches no further than the mind, if that. So, for Scripture to be effective, it must have God's authority and enabling. Why, in so many local churches, do we see little or no power in action? Over the next two or three days, God willing,  I'd like to pin-point some reasons why and offer some suggestions as to how we could see more real power. Selah! I don't believe the power has been withdrawn. I believe it has been withheld! Thinker   (Ron)

#2 Nelinden

Nelinden

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Interests:Biblical Studies, Apologetics, Logic, Philosophy, Christian Counseling, Critical Thinking, Evangelism
  • I am a Layperson