• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Interests:Humor, Writing, Counseling, Bible Study,Discipling and Revival
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • Webbs Mills Free Baptist Church

Posted 07 June 2014 - 04:57 AM

We've heard people (probably done it ourselves) remark on how good it felt to soak in a hot tub. It brings a warm and relaxing pleasure to our bodies. In the Spiritual realm, a soaking in Scripture does the same thing to our spirits. How does one "soak" in Scripture? Along with reading the Bible through in a set time frame (like in a year), single out a small portion or even a single verse. Think on it, write your thoughts down, pray over it, ask a friend how he or she understands it, look it up in commentaries and read some other translations (always checking them by the King James for accuracy). You will be pleasantly surprised by the impact that kind of concentrated investigation will have in your heart and life. Of course this assumes that what you discover, you will apply. The Psalmist evidently soaked in Scripture. In Psalm 119:97, He said, "O how I love thy law! It is my meditation all the day."  Skimming over a portion is like grabbing a few valuable coins out of a discovered treasure chest and leaving the others in place.  Thinker  (Ron)

• Charles Miles, radar and DonnaA like this

#2 radar

radar

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Interests:Retired Navy and disabled veteran. Love studying the Word of God. Read Spurgeon, Rylism, Stedman, Hoekstra, Tozer, Meyer, and Morrison devotionals, sometimes Chambers. Study free online: Ichthys, Gotquestionsorg, SermonAudio, Christian Classic Ethereal Library among others. Like to ocean pier fish as my hobby.
  • I am a Layperson

• HIs Laboring Few Fellowship Thomasville NC

Posted 07 June 2014 - 10:15 AM

Thanks Thinker! This is exactly what I need to do now. God heard my prayer!

Shalom,

Chris

• Thinker likes this