• Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#1 Candice

Candice

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Interests:Bible study and deeper life in Christ, reading old and wise teachers of the bible.
  • I am a Layperson

• I attend a non-Alliance church

Posted 06 February 2014 - 08:34 PM

I'd like to solicit your thoughts, understandings and comments on this topic. It's a bit to read here, but it you're interested, please opine.

After realizing that our church's pastor is strongly siding with Christian existentialism and has hired a young woman to conduct all counseling on his behalf for his flock, I researched and found that this counselor (marriage, family therapist) practices "Gestalt Existential Therapy". Of course this raised my hackles so to speak. The deflated mood I experienced left me wondering where to go now. I studied existential theory in college as part of my major coursework. I was a baby in Christ and knew it was a crock. Although, most of this was certainly from an atheist existential perspective as one would expect from the secular university system.

I've listened to many Ravi Zacharias lectures, some of which he incorporates Christian existentialism as an apologetic tool in explaining post-modernism. I love Ravi as I see his heart for God despite his strongly cerebral leanings. So....I note in bold some comments that I find interesting to explore in particular.....