• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Interests:Humor, Writing, Counseling, Bible Study,Discipling and Revival
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • Webbs Mills Free Baptist Church

Posted 30 October 2013 - 06:00 AM

The kinds of faith discussed in the last two articles are examples of "flabby" or faulty faith. The faith that God requires is an absolute, unconditional trust. This is the kind of faith Job testified to in Job 13:15, where he said, "Though He slay me, yet will I trust in Him...." Abraham exercised a great faith in God's leading. With few, if any, of today's helps for those who travel, "By faith Abraham, when he was called to go out into a place which he should after receive for an inheritance, obeyed; and he went out, not knowing whither he went" (Hebrews 11:8). He acted in even greater faith in Verse 17: "By faith Abraham, when he was tried, offered up Isaac...." His faith was so fixed that he would sacrifice his son. He didn't have to, but he would have done it, if God hadn't intervened. He had faith that God would even raise Isaac from the dead. God offered His Son and He had to sacrifice Him for us. The three Hebrew children, facing the fear of burning to death, refused to compromise their faith. They said to the wicked despot, "....be it known unto thee, O king, that we will not serve thy gods, nor worship the golden image which thou hast set up" (Daniel 3:18). This kind of fixed faith is not blind faith. It is based upon the utter trustworthiness of God's Word. Scripture has never been proven wrong and never will be! "But the Word of the Lord endureth for ever...." (From I Peter 1:25). Selah! If we trust God for our eternal destiny, how can we not trust Him in all that leads to that destiny?   Thinker    (Ron)

• Julie Daube, Candice, elizabethcog and 5 others like this

#2 Julie Daube

Julie Daube

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 987 posts