• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Interests:Humor, Writing, Counseling, Bible Study,Discipling and Revival
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • Webbs Mills Free Baptist Church

Posted 07 November 2012 - 10:28 AM

As we yield to His discipline, as we see the outworking of that discipline in our lives, we become more and more fascinated with Him. Our obedience, our applying of His principles inspires a growing love for Jesus and an increasing appreciation of Him. Perhaps the number one characteristic of a disciple is an intense desire to know Him more deeply and to comprehend, more and more, the wonder of His Person and His love. Study those who walked with Him and how they related to Him; study the books and poems and hymns that holy men and women have given us that reveal their pre-occupation with the wonder of His glorious Person. In two portions of Scripture, John refers to seeing Him. In I John1:2, we read, "....the life was manifested and we have seen it...." In John 1:14, John exclaims, "And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth." Stephen, in his fleeting moments of life, breaks out in praise. We read about this experience in Acts 7:55: "But he, being full of the Holy Ghost, looked up stedfastly into heaven, and saw the glory of God, and Jesus standing on the right hand of God." A careful study will reveal others who were taken with His Person. Many books have been written describing his life and Person. Hymns like "It will be worth it all when we see Christ" and "Face to Face" show hearts longing to be in His Presence, forever. Selah! Are we longing to know Him better and better? He awaits to reveal much about Himself in the pages of our Bibles. Let's go and gaze! Thinker (Ron)