• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Interests:Humor, Writing, Counseling, Bible Study,Discipling and Revival
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • Webbs Mills Free Baptist Church

Posted 15 September 2012 - 11:04 AM

Lust is intense desire. It can be an intense desire for something good or something evil. If we lust enough, we usually end up being, doing or acquiring that for which we lust. Isn't it strange that we lust far more for things that are not good than for things that are good?

Actually, it is not strange at all. We are born with Adam's fallen nature dominating our lives. We naturally seek many things that have no lasting value and/or that can damage us in this life and the one to come. If we long for our lives to be good, we do it because we want respect, we want to be thought of as moral and decent and we are afraid of the consequences of doing or being wrong.

The real tragedy is that we don't naturally seek after or crave God. Paul pointed this out in Romans 3:11. He says, under inspiration, for them and us, "....there is none that seeketh after God." An even far greater tragedy is when those who profess to know Him, in a saving relationship, have no real craving for Him, Himself. We want His blessings, His help and His approval but do we crave to know Him and fellowship with Him on an intimate level? In all honesty, how great is our intense desire to bask in the joy of spending quality time in His Presence?

Let's let His revealing of Himself in the Bible bring about a craving for Him that would motivate us to cry out like the psalmist in Psalms 42:1-2, "As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after Thee, O God. My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God: when shall I come and appear before God?" Selah! "And ye shall seek Me, and find Me, when ye shall search for Me with all your heart." What a promise! Are we famished for God?

Thinker (Ron)
  • elizabethcog likes this

#2 Travis Richey