5 replies to this topic

#1 gospelou

gospelou

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 July 2012 - 01:35 PM

Hi all,

I'm new to the C&MA and thought this would be the best place to come with questions. I'm looking into C&MA and have gone to one service already. I really liked the whole package.

So I've been reading up on it and only got as far as Wikipedia....(yes, I realize they have their bent, too, and I can't believe everything they say-I've seen errors against another denomination...)so this is why I'm here!!! Can someone point me in the direction on this web site for the explanation of this statement from wiki:

A.B. Simpson articulated the Alliance's core theology as the Christological "Fourfold Gospel": Jesus Christ as Savior, Sanctifier, Healer, and Soon Coming King.[5] Sanctification is sometimes described as "the deeper Christian life".[6] This teaching is similar to that of the Higher Life movement and the Keswick Convention. It is perhaps best exemplified by the writings of A. W. Tozer. The C&MA also emphasizes missionary work, and believes that the fulfillment of the Great Commission is the reason it exists

The part that is bold is where I'm not clear. Are there teachings of a deeper Christian life that are similar to a higher life movement? Here is the Higher life movement quote: