• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Interests:Humor, Writing, Counseling, Bible Study,Discipling and Revival
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • Webbs Mills Free Baptist Church

Posted 06 July 2012 - 05:40 AM

"Elect according to the foreknowledge of God the Father, through sanctification of the Spirit, unto obedience...." (From I Peter 1:2). God knows if we will decide for or against Him. He foreknows if we will receive Jesus as Savior and Lord. He doesn't make us do this. He simply knows our choice before we make it. Some argue that if this is true, why do we have to actually decide. If we didn't actually decide, God wouldn't have foreknown our decision. He couldn't have foreknown something that never happened. Others argue that this puts God's sovereignty at the mercy of our free will. Not at all! Our limited free will operates only within the bounds of God's sovereignty, with His permission. I believe that it was Samuel Fisk's illustration that told of goldfish in a tank. Within the owner's limitations, the fish, by their own choice, can swim, eat, sleep, etc. They are not free to limit the owner in any way that he does not choose to allow them to do so. It was a dear black man who was asked if he were among the elect. His reply: "I don't know but I never knew anyone to be elected who wasn't running." How amazing that God would provide us with freedom of will and allow us to be reconciled to Himself, loving Him freely because He first loved us. This is a love that He proved at Calvary. He wins us rather than makes us. Any who would choose to reject such wonderful love deserve the fate they will face. Those that are the elect are set apart by the Holy Spirit. He leads them into the realm or sphere of obedience. Who but God could come up with a plan like His? Ron Pinkham
  • StevePage likes this

#2 Charles Miles

Charles Miles

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 537 posts
  • Interests:Medicine
    Fruits of the spirit