• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Interests:Humor, Writing, Counseling, Bible Study,Discipling and Revival
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • Webbs Mills Free Baptist Church

Posted 26 June 2012 - 01:01 PM

Preaching is an evangelistic opportunity. However, it is much more. Listeners should certainly understand their need of salvation. They should also understand what it means to receive salvation. Salvation is not simply a rescue from Hell! It is a whole new relationship and life. Communicating what that implies should be be one of the priorities of preaching. If our preaching focus is only on helping people escape judgment, that may account for much "easy believism." Go through the "formula" and "presto," you are guaranteed Heaven. In fact, the more expository preaching there is that covers the many facets of becoming a genuine Christian, the easier it is for the personal worker to explain to a potential convert what it means for them to come to Jesus. God, in His great mercy, seems to have worked around the too limited input of things like "The A. B. C's. of Salvation" or "The Romans Road." I suggest that that doesn't excuse our lack of "fleshing out," in our preaching and teaching, what those kinds of outlines lack. The early converts, especially Jewish ones, knew the likely cost of coming to Him. Family relationships lost, financial loss, rejection persecution, danger and death were apt to be the cost of receiving Him. It is comparatively easy for many (particularly in the Western world) today to walk an aisle or make a decision. Hence, there is a greater need to have salvation adequately explained in our day. Could it be that a lack of Spirituality in many churches today can be traced to an emotional only conversion and not to a Spiritual one? Selah! What if we taught someone that they can have assurance of their salvation, when they just agreed with some facts but didn't truly experience a Spiritual conversion? Ron Pinkham