• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Interests:Humor, Writing, Counseling, Bible Study,Discipling and Revival
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • Webbs Mills Free Baptist Church

Posted 18 June 2012 - 09:58 AM

There is a question on many Christians (and sometimes on unsaved people's) minds. It goes like this: can we walk away from being saved? Usually, the question is prompted by someone who appears to have been saved and yet turns completely away. However, we must go by Scripture, not experience. For example: one person turns away and goes into deep sin and later repents and returns to our Lord; another goes into sin, is never bothered (at least it appears that way) and never returns. Only God knows their hearts. We can only guess what is going on in these people's hearts. Jesus, on the other hand, tells us in John 10:27-29, "My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me: and I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of My hand. My Father, which gave them Me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father's hand."

Notice, He doesn't say "if." He says that His sheep do follow and shall never perish. If I could truly turn away undisturbed for the rest of my life, it would only show that I was not a sheep. Once we become one of the sheep, we cannot reverse becoming one of the sheep. Note that the text also says that His sheep "follow." The tense seems to indicate that the "following" keeps right on being done. Jesus keeps on giving them eternal life. If we receive eternal life and could somehow lose it, it would not be eternal. This in no way gives us a license to sin (a truly saved person wouldn't want that kind of license). No child of God can get away with sin. God knows how to and will deal with disobedience in His Children's lives. He corrects and chastises them but doesn't disown them.