• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Interests:Humor, Writing, Counseling, Bible Study,Discipling and Revival
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • Webbs Mills Free Baptist Church

Posted 06 June 2012 - 05:57 AM

The concept that we can in some way choose to receive Jesus as Savior but not necessarily as Lord has likely led to too many people wearing the label "Christian" without the content in the heart. There is a justifiable concern to not in any way make "works" a prerequisite for salvation. However, He is both Savior and Lord! We don't make him our Savior and Lord; we receive Him as Savior and Lord. When we receive Him, we receive Him in both roles. It is no more a "work" to receive Him as Lord than to receive Him as Savior. Salvation is the beginning point of learning to yield to His Lordship. It isn't an instant accomplishment but rather a new direction with a definite destination. Cutting off any further responsibility for growth in holiness at justtification is folly. As one pastor wisely asked one who had responded to a gospel invitation, "Are you ready to give up the control of your life?" To those who have been stirred by a presentation of the gospel, let's give them an understanding of the implications. "For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation" (Romans 10:10). Ron Pinkham
  • emkacee likes this

#2 Charles Miles

Charles Miles

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 537 posts
  • Interests:Medicine
    Fruits of the spirit
    Learning more about the Kingdom of God and how to live in it here on earth
  • I am a Layperson

• First Presbyterian Church EPC

Posted 14 June 2012 - 11:29 AM