The devil

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Anawa Robert Puri

Anawa Robert Puri

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Interests:Listening to gospel music, keeping garden, raising chicks, designing electronics gadgets, praying alone, and chating
  • I am a Layperson

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • Government house chapel

Posted 15 October 2011 - 09:51 PM

The bible says give thanks for everything. Is it wrong to give thanks for the devil?

#2 Josh Gaudreau

Josh Gaudreau

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Interests:My wife Kaye
    Church history
    Theology
    Good Books
    Board games
    Coffee with friends
    Learning to be like Jesus
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend an Alliance church
  • Winnipeg Chinese Alliance Church

Posted 16 October 2011 - 06:30 AM

The bible says give thanks for everything. Is it wrong to give thanks for the devil?

Depends on how you're giving thanks, I guess. I would give thanks that he's defeated, that Christ has victory over him, that despite his efforts he will fail and will one day bow before Christ acknowledging His lordship, and that God uses his schemes for the good of those people who love Him.

Just my thoughts off-hand. I don't think we should ever give thanks for evil, though.
Stumbling like a zombie towards the Light...

#3 Laurie Collett

Laurie Collett

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Interests:Born-again Christian since 4/17/2000. Retired MD neurologist (Laurie Barclay), medical writer. Theatrical ballroom dancer, performer & owner of Rhapsody Ballroom, Tampa, with husband Richard. Adult Bible study teacher. Singer/Christian songwriter.
  • I am a Layperson

• Fellowship Baptist Church

Posted 16 October 2011 - 04:44 PM