Church Signs

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Jeff Lonsinger

Jeff Lonsinger

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Interests:I love to read in the areas of Apologetics, History (mainly the founding era and the Civil War), Leadership, Creation Science and Politics. I love to eat my wife's wonderful cooking and sit around laughing with my wife and children.
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend an Alliance church
  • First Alliance Church

Posted 14 July 2011 - 06:15 PM

I need to point out that I am not a big fan of a church sign being anything other than informational. Otherwise they tend to be silly or trite. I do have one exception. That sign read, "Tithe if you love Jesus. Anyone can honk." I got thinking about this as I drove by a church today with this message on their marquee--"God plus one equals a majority." Even though we all understand the sentiment that even if we feel all by ourselves, if God is with us then we can persevere, etc. However, does the message displayed at this neighborhood house of worship betray a certain smallness in who they understand God to be? Or am I being overly critical?
What comes into our minds when we think about God is the most important thing about us. A.W. Tozer

#2 Joel Stoddert

Joel Stoddert

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • I am a Pastor

• Green Mountain Community Alliance Church

Posted 16 July 2011 - 09:56 PM