Photo

Many Scriptural Truths; we should learn from one another!

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Revdavid

Revdavid

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Interests:Family,Outdoors, Gardening, Birds,
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • St. Matthew Lutheran Church

Posted 28 November 2010 - 04:13 PM

I have been really appreciating lately the perspective other Christian Church bodies have from Holy Scripture.
When i attended seminiary I was taught other church teachings ; but from the perspective that only my church bodies view was correct. i'm learning that the Word of God teaches so much truth, it's amazing! I sometimes wonder why we don't spend more time appreciating one anothers views and giving glory to God for being so not bound to my puny thinking. What does anybody else think? I'd appreciate reading your thoughts on this!
In Christ our Healer,
Pastor David

#2 Travis Richey

Travis Richey

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • I am a Layperson

• Granbury Church of the Nazarene

Posted 28 November 2010 - 06:09 PM

I find this subject in my thoughts many, many times. I recently read a long book on the History of Christianity, and I am amazed at how messed up mankind has managed to make religion over the ages. All these differences in theology and doctrine and all the many ways people within organized churches have used them not to celebrate God, but as vehicles to further their own interests. And of course, religion has been and is politicized and finds itself so caught up in "the world" that it no longer stands apart as that "city upon the hill" and beacon of light in the darkness which it is suppossed to be.