• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Interests:Reading/study, music, golf
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend an Alliance church
  • Perrysburg Alliance

Posted 19 November 2010 - 03:27 PM

As we all understand, Paul gives clear guidelines for those who would be considered or chosen as elders in the church. What has been interesting to me is it seems one real "qualification" is ever mentioned or discussed in our church's selection process - the issue of being the husband of one wife. Now we could discuss and debate this issue as to the historical context and present application, but that really isn't my reason for writing. We all know there are a few other guidelines/qualifications that usually are rarely discussed.

One that is not listed but has risen to the surface in recent years and in some denominational circles is the idea of, should a man's tithing/giving record be considered in his selection as an elder? Some have argued,

>"How can you make financial decisions for the church if you yourself are not giving?"
>"How can you be a leader of the church if you have not submitted to the reality that all we have comes from Him?"
>Tithing is 'Old Testament' and we are no longer under the law!"
>"What I give is between me and the Lord. It's no one elses business!"

I am sure there are other questions that have arisen as well. Some are concerned that the issue of giving will become the primary criteria in choosing an elder.

What are your thoughts and experiences?

#2 Julie Daube

Julie Daube

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 987 posts
  • Interests:Intercessory prayer, spiritual warfare, prophecy, science fiction and fantasy, music, fitness, nutritional healing, apologetics, and evangelism
  • I am a National Office Worker

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • First Evangelical Free Church

Posted 19 November 2010 - 09:12 PM