Photo

What do you do when you're not feeling your faith?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Revdavid

Revdavid

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Interests:Family,Outdoors, Gardening, Birds,
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • St. Matthew Lutheran Church

Posted 28 October 2010 - 08:39 AM

I am a person who is very passionate about my faith. I find that I can accomplish so much more when I'm feeling my faith than when I'm not. Does anyone else have this problem and if so; what do you do during those times you aren't feeling it so much. I know I'm a pastor and people usually are asking me these questions; but I'm searching for personal insights. Got any? I'd appreciate it
In Christ our Healer,
Pastor David

#2 Denes House

Denes House

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 442 posts
  • Interests:I am married to the beauteous Karina, and have two excellent children, Timothy and Evelyn. I love science fiction, kayaking, fantasy, philosophy, theology, politics, movies, illustration, and computer graphics.
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend an Alliance church
  • Trinity Alliance Church

Posted 28 October 2010 - 10:28 AM

Hi, Pastor David!

I would say that, for me, those times are the most critical times to retain my spiritual disciplines - reading the Bible, prayer, worship, solitude, fasting. When God feels far away, I need to stay focused on the TRUTH that He's not. My feelings don't (in those times) accord with the truth, so I need to LEAD my feelings, rather than following them. Live by the truth, and not by my emotions.

That's the theory. :) In practice, I actually too often abandon my spiritual disciplines, and feel sorry for myself, and thus prolong that period far longer than it would otherwise be, and end it with a time of deep guilt and repentance as I look at all the things my foolishness has led me into.

Blessings to you!

Pastor Denes