Photo

How do you pull out of a spiritual funk?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Revdavid

Revdavid

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Interests:Family,Outdoors, Gardening, Birds,
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • St. Matthew Lutheran Church

Posted 24 September 2010 - 12:24 PM

Some days I find myself in a sort of a spiritual funk! Wondering what you all do when your feelings get in the way of sensing God's Presence. :wacko:
In Christ our Healer,
Pastor David

#2 thirstydeer

thirstydeer

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts

Posted 24 September 2010 - 10:58 PM

Some days I find myself in a sort of a spiritual funk! Wondering what you all do when your feelings get in the way of sensing God's Presence. :wacko:

At least you have felt God's presence.. some haven't even had that.. ugh.

I came across this website looking up Tozer.. so this is the type of church he pastored?

#3 Revdavid

Revdavid

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • I am a Pastor

Posted 25 September 2010 - 04:56 AM

Yes Pastor Tozer was a Missionary Alliance Pastor. Though I am thinking his church was alive and filled with Joy more than in a funk. Hope my topic did't color your opinion in a bad way. Thirsty deer!
In Christ our Healer,
Pastor David

#4 Travis Richey

Travis Richey

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • I am a Layperson

• Granbury Church of the Nazarene

Posted 25 September 2010 - 06:43 AM

David,

This subject has come up in a few different places for me lately. I have turned to Psalm 77 as one place to find comfort and a way out of the "funk":

"I cried out to God for help; I cried out to God to hear me. When I was in distress, I sought the Lord;at night I stretched out untiring hands and my soul refused to be comforted. I remembered you, O God, and I groaned; I mused, and my spirit grew faint. Selah