Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • I am a Layperson

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • family home church

Posted 14 February 2016 - 04:51 PM

I was going to just copy/paste but I decided to just give the link because of the photos. I suspect it's something most of the members in here can relate to.

For Him,

Meema

http://bagsallpacked...perfection.html

#2 Tony Davison

Tony Davison

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Interests:Retired Electrician by trade full time christian by Gods choice.
  • I am a Layperson

Posted 15 February 2016 - 04:50 AM

Thank you for the blog I am going to a church now where it is more age appropriate for myself and my wife. We even have a full pipe organ and sometimes there is only one song leader (a little sarcasm). The building is over a hundred years old.

• Phil likes this

#3 Meema

Meema

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • I am a Layperson

• family home church

Posted 15 February 2016 - 07:01 AM

I’ve heard of a local church that has two buildings/two services. The small original church serves the older congregants with a ‘traditional’ service and the new building serves the younger generation - those who need to be invigorated and entertained to maintain their interest. I think this is sad even though, on the surface, it appears to be a nice compromise. I know all the arguments, of course. We have to do what we have to do to keep the young people from being pulled away. They are so easily bored by tradition. But it seems all wrong to me and I can’t defend my position other than to say I don’t think it’s about conforming to modern need as much as it is allowing modern need to drive the bus, pedal to the metal, over the cliff.