• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Interests:Family,Outdoors, Gardening, Birds,
  • I am a Pastor

• I attend a non-Alliance church
  • St. Matthew Lutheran Church

Posted 09 April 2012 - 06:56 AM

I am so grateful to my Risen Lord that much of who He made me to be is a deeply feeling individual. As a Pastor it has been a strength. Many people are willing to investigate things in their faith if they see how much it means to me and how strongly I feel about it. My struggle though has been the times when I am not feeling my faith so strongly. The times when my sensitivity to the Holy Spirit's promptings are minimal or even appear to be missing completely. When I desire the fire and the feelings aren't present; it is most difficult for me to keep a steady faith and focus. I hate when I don't feel or sense Him. Deep feelings, emotions and passion is the cut of my jib. So if God knows this and made me this way; why does he so often keep the feelings and the emotion, the passion and the sensitivity to His promptings away? I'd appreciate hearing what God will give me through your good counsel!
  • willa Bean likes this
In Christ our Healer,
Pastor David

#2 C. Kirby

C. Kirby

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • I am a Layperson

Posted 10 April 2012 - 03:48 AM

Faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see. Is your faith in God, or in your feelings? Are the experiences in danger of becoming an idol? It was right for Abraham to love Isaac, but not more than God. John of Cross talked about this in "Dark Night of the Soul" - http://www.ccel.org/...ark_night.html.
  • willa Bean likes this

#3 Revdavid

Revdavid

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Interests:Family,Outdoors, Gardening, Birds,
  • I am a Pastor

• St. Matthew Lutheran Church

Posted 10 April 2012 - 06:50 AM

I don't think it's that serious; just bothersome at times. I will check out your link though. Thank you!